Once again hackers are using messages on Facebook and Twitter to lure would-be victims to click on a link. They promise wealth, fame, fortune, the ability to help someone in trouble, and a myriad of other things to get you to click. One of the most recent scams is to make messages look like they are coming from a friend in trouble away from home. They request money be sent by wire. This scam hurts your friends as well as your credibility.
Also, they want you to click on a link to download a special program for viewing their content. This is really spyware. It infects your computer and then it sends the same deceptive message to all your Facebook friends.
Jeff Debrosse, a computer security specialist says, "Just one person getting an infection on a social networking site actually opens the door to thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, or millions getting infected".
"Koob-face" has been around for a while, but hackers are once again trying to lure gullable Facebook users to give up their personal information with new tricks, according to McAfee.
E-mails with a subject line of "Facebook Password Reset Confirmation! Customer Support" are sent saying that people's passwords on their Facebook accounts have been reset and that they should log in to a site to get their new credentials. But if the attachment is opened, it downloads several types of malicious software, including a program that steals passwords, McAfee said.
You can keep your computer secure by always checking out a link before clicking it (See- "Check Out The Links For Safety"), always use an up-to-date browser, which may recognize the newest threats, and by keeping your anti-virus software up to date.








